Making Headway

‘Wide Blue Yonder’ statement sinamay boater by Goodrum & Merryweather in aid of Headway. Exhibited at The Forum, Norwich, March 2024.

Collaboration is always a pleasure and, so the theory goes, it is also fundamental to creativity and creative success. Recently, I’ve put theory into practice, through a charitable partnership with Headway (Norfolk and Waveney branch), the not-for-profit organisation that ‘Improves Lives Impacted by Brain Injury’.

Headway has been a source of advice and support to me personally these past five years during my recovery from Acoustic Neuroma. As soon as I learned of Headway’s intention, then, to stage a fundraising art exhibition and silent auction in the spectacular setting of The Forum, right around the corner from me in Norwich, I jumped at the chance to be involved and to return a little of the kindness I have been shown by the charity. Artists – with milliners included in the definition – were invited to donate artworks, which would be exhibited in a group show from 4th-7th March 2024. Pieces might be acquired through a sealed bid system, all in aid of the noble and excellent Headway cause.

For my contribution, I decided to make a large, show stopping, hat, in the form of a statement boater (18 inches diameter) both to catch the eyes of the visiting public (refer to image) but also not to be dwarfed in the cathedral-like dimensions of The Forum. I selected a sky-blue colour to match the Headway logo and livery. This was also a good opportunity to try out the ruffled veiling technique that I’ve been waiting to deploy for some time; I used more than four metres (that’s a lot) of veiling for the trim. The hat is called ‘Wide Blue Yonder’, evoking the idea that, with brain injury, comes the great and gaping unknown but, so too, comes alternative, positive, possibilities, broadened horizons and, on occasion, a hint of blue sky.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started