A Life Re-Written

Poster girl (literally) for Action for Brain Injury Week, May 2024.

It was all ‘hush hush’ until the end of last month but I can now go public with the tremendous news that Goodrum & Merryweather is featuring in a national awareness-raising campaign for the charity Headway, the Brain Injury Association.

I’ve been under media embargo for several weeks and months and had to tiptoe down to London back in April 2024 to record a short film (interviewed by the television celebrity-du-jour, BBC Traitors finalist Andrew Jenkins) and participate in a photo shoot with some of my hats. What a privilege and pleasure to be asked to represent this important and excellent charity and to be one of the faces of its Action for Brain Injury Week (ABI Week), which took place from 20-26th May 2024. I am thankful to be in a position to share my story as a brain tumour survivor and to acknowledge how millinery has featured positively in my ‘re-written’ life post-operatively. Millinery has given me new skills, new friends and new horizons. Headway has given me support, information and encouragement along the way. A great combination.

It was fascinating to spend time filming my interview with a producer, director and entourage from the broadcast agency TBIMedia and to peek behind the scenes for a short while. Having my portrait taken by campaign photographer David Baker was also a new, and intriguing, experience. So, millinery has, yet again, opened new doors and forged fresh experiences. The silver lining continues to unfurl in unexpected and extraordinary ways.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started